Progress

by Katie Anderson

Another whirlwind of a week. Wednesday and Thursday were spent on my research trip to the Liverpool Biennial (finally!), although it had a different feel to the last time I visited in 2010 – this may be due to myself as much as the event – the venues contrasted against one another strangely from the LJMU Copperas Hill Building, an empty post depot (?) which was somewhat creepy – but I did love the City States Tour, the New Contemporaries much less so – to the Cunard Building. Once the ‘arrival lounge’ for First Class sailing passengers according to their information boards, and containing some of my favourite works.

Back at Home, preparations are under way for the WASPS studios Open Studios Weekend, my first opportunity to discuss my work and a deadline point for all the works in progress – so the pressure is on to get all those pieces in the midway point to a displayable stage. The dates are the 8th and 9th of December, 10am ’til 4pm – I recommend making the trip to Kirkcudbright, and about ten other studios will be open, so it should be a worthwhile endeavour. I even hear there may be mince pies and mulled wine on offer!

My other sparkle of good news is having been accepted for the Spring Fling 2013 event next May. It’s another deadline point – a measuring stage, but on a slightly larger platform. It’s also somewhat nerve-wreaking, as well as being on quite a big scale as art events go, it’s also represents a very wide range of styles and types of art – of which mine sits somewhere slightly separate from much of it  as the conceptual, contemporary basis. However I hope it will be a really useful experience… now to get all those half finished ideas into the next stage.

